Taranaki Property Investors' Association


News & Updates

Recent updates


New Ministers appointed

NEW MINISTERS – Shane Jones & Maryan Street

The Prime Minister has appointed Shane Jones as the new Minister for Building and Construction (responsible for tenancy law). Jones replaces Clayton Cosgrove in the recent Cabinet reshuffle.

Jones was previously Chairman of Parliament’s Finance Select Committee. Jones is also a director of a number of land and property development companies and owns 3 properties in Whangarei/Northland.

The new Minister of Housing (responsible for state housing) is Maryan Street. Chris Carter previously held the portfolio.

Street is a former trade unionist and was a former Housing New Zealand Corporation board member. She has recently promoted a bill proposing landlords insure their tenants. [This matter is to be relitigated in the new Residential Tenancies Amendment Bill].